Thread: Prototype or not, how can you really tell?

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    SouthRox
    Steam
    SouthRox

Default Prototype or not, how can you really tell?

OK, im still a noob at this sort of stuff, but i was just wondering how the hell can you tell if a game is a proto or not. Of course I have seen the cart casing cut out so that the chips could fit on the board, but some protos that I have seen do not have this. Some look just like the regular game from the outside, do all the workings and layout of the inside of the cart tell whether or not a cart is a prototype or not? Looks like anyone could make a fake "authentic" nintendo label saying "sample: Demo cart only" or something to that effect, and slap it on the front of a cart then call it a demo... If this is a totally stupid question, I have been drinking for the last 6 hours

PSN: SouthRox

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    1 Post

Default Re: Prototype or not, how can you really tell?

If you have to ask, you can't tell.

Seriously!

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    1 Post

This is a good topic, of course.

There's been a good deal of debate about when the "prototype" label is appropriate and when "sample" is; if you've got a Sega Master System game with a label on it reading "Sample" then you've essentially got the equivalent of a Game Boy Advance demo cart, but from many years ago.

Lab Loaners (pretty much exclusively Atari VCS) seem to be all the rage...I wouldn't say these are always prototypes as probably many are just copies of the code at a particular state of completion, given out to various companies for whatever devious purposes. However, I'm not very familiar with the process Atari used to produce their games.