Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: playing to *perfection*

Banned

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    1 Post

Default playing to *perfection*

I've been playing RE4 for about two months now and I'm still only 7 hours into it. It's not because I don't play it a lot and it's not because I'm bad. It's because I go back and load the last save every time I make a mistake.

Foot stuck in a bear trap? Reload. Wasted ammo in a skirmish? Reload. Used up too many herbs in a boss fight? Reload.

These tendencies are the same that caused me to take over a year to finish Vice City.

These tendencies go back to the VCS days. If I lost a ship playing Defender, the reset switch got slammed. Lost a guy in Berzerk? Reset. Now this is really bad; in Missile Command, my goal was to never lose a city. Never mind that the game coughed up a bonus city every time I lost one. Reset.

In the Commodore era it got worse. Do you know how many times you have to play Law of the West to stop every bank robbery? Do you know how hard it is to pitch a perfect game in Hardball? In Questron I thought there might be a way to win so much money gambling, my money would roll to $0. Then there was Wasteland...there was one building in one city you had to have a password to get into...it had nothing to do with finishing the game, but I had to get into that building (and after 100s of hours of playing I never did).

When Mortal Kombat and Street Fighter II came about, I focused on complete and total mastery of one character (still do...to this day I can barely control any character besides Honda and Lui Kang...in Samarai Shodown make that Haohmaru, in VF make that Sarah, in Tekken make that King).

I'm the kind of guy that will run Mario off a ledge chasing a 1-up.

When I unlock a level in a game like Tony Hawk or SSX, I ignore it until I have completely mastered the level I am working on.

Rez...haven't played level 5 yet...still don't have 100% on the first four.