Thread: Mod for import dreamcast light gun.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Mod for import dreamcast light gun.

I just started here. I have been collecting older systems and games for about 2 years now. I have most of the systems out there. I have a question, I just got 2 import dreamcast light guns and need to know how to mod the system to use them. Any one out there know how to do a harware or software mod so they work on a us dreamcast?

Strawberry (Level 2)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

I dont think its the gun i think its the software (You can use the "Sega" light gun on a US dreamcast playing the import HoTD

Pretzel (Level 4)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Bumping this to the Technical section to improve the chances of finding the answer.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Chronogamer
    PSN
    Mekrabad

Hey, what guns do you have and from what region are they? Have you tried to use them yet?

I have one made by Hais and it has a kickback function that doesn't work because I don't have the original AC adaptor for it. I bought it in Korea and it works just fine as a lightgun, without the kickback, on "The Dead and the House" game.*

So, in short, I don't think you need to make any modification to use the gun itself.

If there is an AC adaptor issue then that's a different problem. When I'm ready to make an attempt at getting an AC adaptor to work with it, I will probably get one of those variable adaptors from Radio Shack and test each voltage/amp combo one by one until it works or I turn into a steaming electrified corpse with a lump of melted plastic bonded to my hand.

*On the front of the box there is some Engrish: "Play 'THE DEAD AND THE HOUSE' game and the other games"
    Chronogamer. Every game. Chronologically.