Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: How do I get the best picture quality from my Xbox360

  1. #1
    ServBot (Level 11) Kejoriv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    3,060
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    kejoriv

    Default How do I get the best picture quality from my Xbox360

    Alright I have a 32" Philips TV.
    3 years old - 27 inch screen
    Not a flat, hdtv, plasmc or any of that.
    Nice tv.

    What can I do to get the best picture quality from my Xbox 360? Should I get the Xbox 360 S-Video AV Cable? Or just stick with what it comes with?

    Thanks for the help.

  2. #2
    Banana (Level 7) Zing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,491
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Component > S-Video > Composite.

    Lock topic.

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0) MuppetMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Burlington,Ontario
    Posts
    196
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If your useing the standard AV cables then YES you should upgrade to the S-Video cables. If your using the HD component cables (RBG) then NO those are better than using S-Video.
    Gotta have it all!!!


    My Game Collection:

  4. #4
    ServBot (Level 11) Kejoriv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    3,060
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    kejoriv

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zing
    Component > S-Video > Composite.

    Lock topic.
    http://www.ebgames.com/ebx/product/258821.asp

    Would that work (aka look a lot better) even on a regular tv? Im pretty sure my tv has those outputs on the back. Thanks for all the help, Im pretty clueless when it comes to this kind of stuff. Only output and input I know...well..thats for a topic for the Happy Hours Pub.

  5. #5
    Great Puma (Level 12) heybtbm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    4,338
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    The Shamemaker
    PSN
    heybtbm
    Steam
    The_Shamemaker

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kejoriv
    Quote Originally Posted by Zing
    Component > S-Video > Composite.

    Lock topic.
    http://www.ebgames.com/ebx/product/258821.asp

    Would that work (aka look a lot better) even on a regular tv? Im pretty sure my tv has those outputs on the back. Thanks for all the help, Im pretty clueless when it comes to this kind of stuff. Only output and input I know...well..thats for a topic for the Happy Hours Pub.
    The cable that you linked to is just a combination "component/composite" cable. If you don't have component jacks on your TV this cable won't be any different that a normal composite cable.

    Component = HDTV...look for a set of red, green, and blue RCA jacks on the back of your TV.

    Composite = Look for a single yellow RCA jack on your TV.

    Like the guy posted before...

    component > S-video > composite

    My opinion is that S-video isn't that much better than composite when dealing with tube TV's and game consols. This may not be true with the 360, but is certainly true with GC/PS2/Xbox.

  6. #6
    Kirby (Level 13) ubersaurus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    5,471
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    ubersaurus

    Default

    Component jacks, if they are on your tv, are the way to go. I've seen em on non-HD machines.
    Check out the Kleppings!
    Make Way For Madness!
    "9 is a poor man's 11, and 11 is a Baker's Ten."
    Infinite Lives

  7. #7
    ServBot (Level 11) Kejoriv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    3,060
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    kejoriv

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ubersaurus
    Component jacks, if they are on your tv, are the way to go. I've seen em on non-HD machines.
    Yea, thats what I have and Im gonna have to get that cord this week.

  8. #8
    Banned

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    4,091
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    njiska

    Default

    So does anyone with a VGA cable know if it will do proper Widescreen or Letterbox?

  9. #9
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Columbus/OHIO
    Posts
    3,070
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Doh...

    Plug it into you computer monitor...forget that primitive TV of yours.

    VGA --> Component --> SCART --> S-Video --> Composite

    Any word on DVI or HDMI cables?

    Later,
    Trebuken

  10. #10
    Banned

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    4,091
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    njiska

    Default Re: Doh...

    Quote Originally Posted by Trebuken
    Plug it into you computer monitor...forget that primitive TV of yours.

    VGA --> Component --> SCART --> S-Video --> Composite

    Any word on DVI or HDMI cables?

    Later,
    Trebuken
    No digital support, HOWEVER it's been rumoured that there maybe support for it in the future. DVI would just make sense.

  11. #11
    Key (Level 9)
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Stomping around Hyrule.
    Posts
    1,843
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Up until now I've used simple ol' gold-tipped Monster Cables on a regular tube tv and it kicks ass.

    As of this Sunday I'll be using a new plasma tv with either S-video or component, depending on the switchbox that I can buy. I had a dilemma. Do I buy a new 360 when Elderscrolls isn't out yet, or do I buy a plasma tv and make all of my existing consoles look incredible? The plasma won since we just finished our new gaming room two nights ago. It should be scary.

  12. #12
    Pac-Man (Level 10) Nez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Glendale, Az
    Posts
    2,699
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jdc
    Up until now I've used simple ol' gold-tipped Monster Cables on a regular tube tv and it kicks ass.

    As of this Sunday I'll be using a new plasma tv with either S-video or component, depending on the switchbox that I can buy. I had a dilemma. Do I buy a new 360 when Elderscrolls isn't out yet, or do I buy a plasma tv and make all of my existing consoles look incredible? The plasma won since we just finished our new gaming room two nights ago. It should be scary.
    Why go plasma? DLP is the way to go, its more reliable, has betterscreen quality, and is much cheaper.

    Oh and if you have a 360 you should definitly buy at least a HD CRT monitor I purchased a 27 inch HD CRT TV for $420.
    (Oo (xxx) oO) (Oo (xxx) oO)
    .o xxxxxxxx o . o xxxxxxxx o

  13. #13
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Carrollton (Dallas, TX)
    Posts
    359
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I 2nd the 'avoid plasma' sentiment. My brother has a 42" Plasma from 2003 that has had light/medium use as a spare TV, and it's picture has NOTICABLY degraded over the small time that he's had it.

    For large (40"+) .. DLP > *, and LCD > Plasma

    For smaller .. CRT > *

  14. #14
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Columbus/OHIO
    Posts
    3,070
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default HDTV....

    I wouldn't by anything that cannot display in 1080P. I would look for something that upconverts as well. PS3 will support 1080P and likely HD-DVD and Blue-Ray will as well. It'll cost more but it will also be future proofed to some degree. DLP is cool, but some of the new flat screens (not sure if they are 'plasma') are very nice though. I usually do not like anything that I can see the pixels in when I stand right in front of it...DLP is great, but I prefer the JVC IDLA TV's, though they are not 1080P. Have not gotten up to date with the new crop of 1080P sets...maybe when my car is paid for...

    Later,
    Trebuken

  15. #15
    Banned

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    4,091
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    njiska

    Default

    I could give a rat's ass about 1080p, but i will say DLP is the way to go.

    Plasma's are better nowadays then they were 2 years ago because the old units actually leaked. DLP on the other hand is a solid tech a step up from LCD and it really is beautiful.

Similar Threads

  1. N64 Picture Quality Mod?
    By wingzrow in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-26-2009, 03:16 PM
  2. Genesis poor picture quality
    By otaku in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-31-2008, 10:59 AM
  3. Crappy Picture Quality...?
    By Truffle in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-20-2005, 04:40 PM
  4. Is PSOne w/ Screen defined as RGB picture quality?
    By The Clonus Horror in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-08-2004, 04:02 PM
  5. Picture quality for the 2600 Jr. model
    By Retro Pro in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-09-2004, 04:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •