Thread: Is the color supposed to be off on DS/SP screens?

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Is the color supposed to be off on DS/SP screens?

I just returned my $100 DS to Target for another one because it had 5-6 dead pixels on the touch screen. This new one doesn't have any but the top screen looks *slightly* darker than the bottom one and has a very light shade of magenta in it. I don't remember seeing this in my other DS that I returned but I do have a NES-style SP that has the exact same problem with the magenta.

Is it like this with all DS screens? I know I'm being picky here, but I studied color photography for several years and a color imbalance like this is really obvious and annoying to me.

Cherry (Level 1)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Neither of my SPs (one old, one new back-lit) nor my new Mario Kart DS has any sort of magenta coloration on the screen(s). I'm thinking something is wrong with your LCDs. I've never heard of such a thing happening, nor seen anything like that.

At the worst, tell Nintendo about it and I'm sure they'll replace it - they're great about that sort of thing.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by marcus12024
    Neither of my SPs (one old, one new back-lit) nor my new Mario Kart DS has any sort of magenta coloration on the screen(s). I'm thinking something is wrong with your LCDs. I've never heard of such a thing happening, nor seen anything like that.

At the worst, tell Nintendo about it and I'm sure they'll replace it - they're great about that sort of thing.
    Niether of my DS's had color issues, though I did notice that my second DS seemed to have a superior screen quality...?
    Vectors, pixels & polygons

Bell (Level 8)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts