Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Possible to Get Component from Genesis 2?

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Contrabassoon86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Branford, CT
    Posts
    157
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Possible to Get Component from Genesis 2?

    I know that the Genesis 2 has Red , Green, and blue pin out; but no one has ever mentioned if you could do a custom component cable or a comnponent mod on the genny. I know there is a Scart cable, but I don't want to play on a small screen.

    Does any body have an ideas? Are there component mods for other similar systems?

  2. #2
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    190
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You'd have to build an RGB-component transcoder, but yes, it is possible. It might be more economical (with results close but not quite as good) to do the S-Video mod (which I believe is the same as the Neo Geo S-Video mod).

  3. #3
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    With the S-video mod you'd need composite output for the audio, correct?

  4. #4
    Banana (Level 7) SkiDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,442
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by c0ldb33r
    With the S-video mod you'd need composite output for the audio, correct?

    You would probably want it, although you could use stereo AV cables for the sound. On my S-video modded Genesis 2, I am just using the audio out from the sega CD to get my sound. Works fine. I reccomend the S-video. I dont know if composite would be much better and it would certainly be a lot more complicated.

    Depending on the chip inside your Genesis the S-video mod will be easy, hard, or practically impossible. I did the hard mod ("NeoGeo" mod) before I knew that the "easy" chips came in the Genesis 2 and that I infact owned a few with that chip.
    Rarest games in collection: (R8) Chavez II for SNES / (R7) Star Gunner (Telesys) for Atari 2600
    Game Collection -- Game Commercials -- Favorite Game: Secret of Mana
    Wii code: 2572 7867 9177 9866 Smash: 0259-0110-4026

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Contrabassoon86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Branford, CT
    Posts
    157
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Neo Mod

    Where can I find the directions for the S-video "Neo Mod" for the Genesis? Is there are good mod web site? I have been unlucky finding one on google.
    I love buying stuff now, that I could never afford in the past!!!

  6. #6
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Contrabassoon86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Branford, CT
    Posts
    157
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Neo Mod

    Repeat, whoops.
    I love buying stuff now, that I could never afford in the past!!!

  7. #7
    Banana (Level 7) SkiDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,442
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Rarest games in collection: (R8) Chavez II for SNES / (R7) Star Gunner (Telesys) for Atari 2600
    Game Collection -- Game Commercials -- Favorite Game: Secret of Mana
    Wii code: 2572 7867 9177 9866 Smash: 0259-0110-4026

  8. #8
    Banned

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    4,364
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Re: Possible to Get Component from Genesis 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by Contrabassoon86
    I know there is a Scart cable, but I don't want to play on a small screen.


    This is a big myth that all RGB monitors have small screens. But there are a number of RGB monitors that are quite large, and will give you a much better picture than going with some kind of transcoder.


    For example, there are a number of 27 inch 4:3 monitors that do RGB, and do RGB damn well, and would be much better than using some component inputs on a crappy TV. Sony PVM-2530 is a 27 inch beast that can do 15 kHz RGB. Same thing with the NEC XM-2950. And then there is the Mitsubishi Megaview monitor line. Most of the Megaviews do 15 kHz just fine, and come in huge sizes.

  9. #9
    Banana (Level 7) SkiDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,442
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SkiDragon
    http://www.digitpress.com/livefaq/index.php?action=artikel&cat=39&id=82&artlang=en
    http://www.neostore.com/megamods.htm
    http://www.lukesandel.com/techgaller...-Svideo?page=1
    The CXA1145 mod is relatively complex, and that site does a piss poor job of explaining it. There used to be another site that was slightly more informative but I can no longer find it. Even though I have done this mod on a Genesis myself I still found the instructions confusing. I took the time to scribble down a circuit diagram and I will upload it when I get the chance. Right now I am wondering what exactly the circuit does. I always thought it was an amplifier circuit but now I am not so sure.
    Rarest games in collection: (R8) Chavez II for SNES / (R7) Star Gunner (Telesys) for Atari 2600
    Game Collection -- Game Commercials -- Favorite Game: Secret of Mana
    Wii code: 2572 7867 9177 9866 Smash: 0259-0110-4026

  10. #10
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    2,145
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SkiDragon
    Right now I am wondering what exactly the circuit does. I always thought it was an amplifier circuit but now I am not so sure.
    It is a buffer, like a 0-gain amplifier. The Y/C pins on the 1145 output the correct levels, but lack the ability to adequately drive the inputs on a monitor.

    Try hooking the 1145 Y/C directly to a monitor sometime. The picture will look good unless there is a lot of brightness, at which point it will become unstable. Sonic 1 demonstrates this well.

  11. #11
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    577
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FABombjoy
    Quote Originally Posted by SkiDragon
    Right now I am wondering what exactly the circuit does. I always thought it was an amplifier circuit but now I am not so sure.
    It is a buffer, like a 0-gain amplifier. The Y/C pins on the 1145 output the correct levels, but lack the ability to adequately drive the inputs on a monitor.
    Hmmm... I wonder if you could simply buffer it with a couple emitter followers or a dual high freq op-amp chip hooked up as a voltage follower. There may be a simpler circuit possible.

  12. #12
    Banana (Level 7) SkiDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,442
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Here is the circuit diagram I made. I hope that it's correct.

    Rarest games in collection: (R8) Chavez II for SNES / (R7) Star Gunner (Telesys) for Atari 2600
    Game Collection -- Game Commercials -- Favorite Game: Secret of Mana
    Wii code: 2572 7867 9177 9866 Smash: 0259-0110-4026

  13. #13
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    577
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SkiDragon
    Here is the circuit diagram I made. I hope that it's correct.
    Thanks for posting that. Those are a couple strange looking circuits, what are they common-base configuration? CB gives you voltage amplification but not current.

  14. #14
    Banana (Level 7) SkiDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,442
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I found another similar image at the following site. Mine looks essentially the same. I am wondering if it matters what npn transistor is used. Some sources reccomend the ECG or NTE 85, but other sources claim it doesnt matter. It probably doesnt matter.

    http://gamesx.com/wiki/doku.php?id=av:sony_cxa_series
    Rarest games in collection: (R8) Chavez II for SNES / (R7) Star Gunner (Telesys) for Atari 2600
    Game Collection -- Game Commercials -- Favorite Game: Secret of Mana
    Wii code: 2572 7867 9177 9866 Smash: 0259-0110-4026

  15. #15
    Banana (Level 7) SkiDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,442
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Re: Possible to Get Component from Genesis 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by Anthony1
    This is a big myth that all RGB monitors have small screens. But there are a number of RGB monitors that are quite large, and will give you a much better picture than going with some kind of transcoder.

    For example, there are a number of 27 inch 4:3 monitors that do RGB, and do RGB damn well, and would be much better than using some component inputs on a crappy TV. Sony PVM-2530 is a 27 inch beast that can do 15 kHz RGB. Same thing with the NEC XM-2950. And then there is the Mitsubishi Megaview monitor line. Most of the Megaviews do 15 kHz just fine, and come in huge sizes.

    The real question that I have been wondering for a long time is whether or not it is possible to mod a TV for RGB. I know that eventually the TV must use an RGB signal of some sort to actually aim the electrons. I want to skip to that part of the TV and make it RGB compatible. Dangerous? Perhaps, but I still want to do it.
    Rarest games in collection: (R8) Chavez II for SNES / (R7) Star Gunner (Telesys) for Atari 2600
    Game Collection -- Game Commercials -- Favorite Game: Secret of Mana
    Wii code: 2572 7867 9177 9866 Smash: 0259-0110-4026

  16. #16
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    190
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yeah, that's possible too. You'd have to to basically find the chip that decodes the input video to RGB, and glom onto that chip's output. Either that or trace the RGB lines further to bypass any unwanted components. Some such chips may even offer RGB in (even if the set itself doesn't offer such an input), in which case you could just add a suitable connector that goes directly to the RGB in.

    Just remember, CRTs are dangerous to work on if not discharged. The safest way to discharge a set is simply to leave it sitting, although this can be very slow and hard to tell if the CRT is truly discharged. Here's more information on safely discharging sets before working on them.

  17. #17
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    184
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LocalH
    Just remember, CRTs are dangerous to work on if not discharged. The safest way to discharge a set is simply to leave it sitting, although this can be very slow and hard to tell if the CRT is truly discharged. Here's more information on safely discharging sets before working on them.
    This is totaly Wrong CRT dont discharge themself they are a huge capacitor and can hold power longer then most people live a nasty disscharge hurts like a bitch and can in worst case scenario kill someone!!! discharging of CRT tubes should NOT be tried by AMATURES!!!

    !!! WARNING WARNING WARNING
    following information is not to be taken lightly and not to be tried by people who dont know what they are doing!!!

    if you are gonna discharge a CRT use a PLASTIC Screwdriver and wrap lots and lots of wire around it like a coil and connect the other part to ground and carefully lift the Anode of the CRT and touch it with the Screwdriver tip and for god sake make sure its unplugged before doing anything att all!
    Broken? fix it.

  18. #18
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    190
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well, by "safest" I meant "absolutely no chance for accidents assuming you allow the tube to fully discharge", but I agree that it takes an extremely long time. The site I linked to goes further in-depth and seems to be accurate.

  19. #19
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    184
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    i havent checked the site out more then a glimps of it but i know this for a fact since i used to work as an crt repair technican and discharges do hurt ALOT..
    Broken? fix it.

Similar Threads

  1. A look at my Component modded Genesis + extras
    By Satoshi_Matrix in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-07-2013, 01:50 PM
  2. Running Component Video From a Genesis 1/CD/32x
    By substantial_snake in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-15-2012, 02:22 AM
  3. Genesis s-video on LCD problem / component to VGA?
    By Eternal Champion in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-07-2011, 05:03 PM
  4. Help w/Genesis RGB/Component video mod.
    By NESWizard in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-21-2007, 12:35 PM
  5. sega satrun / genesis scart cable and component inputs
    By googlefest1 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-21-2006, 10:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •