Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: will Sega CD play backups?

  1. #1
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default will Sega CD play backups?

    Is there any way to backup my Sega CD games and keep the originals in their packaging? I never thought this was possible - but was speaking with someone on a local newsgroup and he said it works fine.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Cherry (Level 1) FullCircle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Salisbury, NH
    Posts
    213
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    segaxtreme.net has numerous FAQs that will show you how to rip and burn copies of your Sega CD games. I've also been told that you can also play the backup copies on your Dreamcast with Gens, but haven't tried it myself.

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    170
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    There is no copy protection whatsoever. Just throw your original disc into your computer and do a straight copy, it should work find as long as it's decent media. I do it all the time since my Sega CD scratches the originals. Burned ones never get scratched however, so I think it's a balance issue.

  4. #4
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    No protection whatsoever? So I could just use Nero Data CD Copy to back em up? I've been concerned about it since I read online that some Seg a CDs scratch discs. I've also read a Sega CD burned a disc, but I think that's crap - there's no way the laser would be strong enough.

  5. #5
    Pac-Man (Level 10) mailman187666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    2,050
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    11
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    I have played backup copies of games in my sega CD and they work well. A couple times i had to reset the system here and there before it would boot up. But I've never had a problem with the sega CD scratching disks. I heard also that the 3do will play backup copies of games. I know that japanese game work on 3do. Makes me wonder if japanese Sega Cd games would work in a US system.

  6. #6
    Peach (Level 3)
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    756
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Japanese CD backups won't work on a US system unless you have one of those import cartridges or you run a utility on the ISO image of the CD first. Neither of those work with 100% of games, either.

    I was under the impression that Japanese 3DO games wouldn't run on a US 3DO, too. Is there any trick to making them work?

  7. #7
    ServBot (Level 11) Cauterize's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    3,877
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blue lander
    Japanese CD backups won't work on a US system unless you have one of those import cartridges or you run a utility on the ISO image of the CD first. Neither of those work with 100% of games, either
    Utility to change a Iso's region:

    http://www.retrodev.com/convscd.html

    and

    http://www.zophar.net/utilities/segacdutil.html

    As for downloading the Iso's... use mIRC or find a good torrent

  8. #8
    Ryu Hayabusa (Level 16) rbudrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Buying the rare ones, moments before you get there.
    Posts
    8,435
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    They work, but you have to use the right program....I hear crazy stories that some people can't get it to work, but I hear Nero and Alcohol 120% work.....not sure what settings you have to tweak to do it, though.
    There should be an FAQ for that.

    -Rob
    The moral is, don't **** with Uncle Tim when he's been drinking!

  9. #9
    Kirby (Level 13) cyberfluxor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    5,560
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cauterize
    use mIRC...
    You mean IRC . mIRC is just client software to access the IRC networks.

    As for ripping CDs use IsoBuster all the way. It picks through all the security and checksums to be sure every bit is backed up.
    [Website] [Gallary] [Games List] [DP Feedback]

  10. #10
    Pac-Man (Level 10) mailman187666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    2,050
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    11
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    I have a japanese version of alone in the dark 2 for 3d0 and it works no problem with my US 3do, buy a cheap jap game on ebay and test it out. I recieved them in a lot i bought on ebay and i tried them out for the hell of it and it worked.

  11. #11
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cauterize
    As for downloading the Iso's... use mIRC or find a good torrent
    Nahh I've got discs, I just don't want to risk damaging them (or opening those flimsy plastic cases too much)

  12. #12
    Lvl 99 Custom rank graphic
    Daria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5,214
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    3 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Nymphomatic

    Default

    I use alchohol 120% and it works fine, just be certain to burn at a slow speed, things start to fuck up if you rush it.

  13. #13
    Cherry (Level 1) dubiouscubanx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Metro Detroit
    Posts
    310
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    dubiouscubanx

    Default

    Instead of making a new thread for this, I'll ask here: Will the JVC X'Eye play backup Sega CD games as well?

  14. #14
    Peach (Level 3)
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    756
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Just about anything works to burn Sega CD's. Turbo Duo CDs are far more picky.

  15. #15
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    68
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I have burned games with cdrtools (cdrecord) and it worked fine.

  16. #16
    Professional Geek Custom rank graphic
    Damaramu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,423
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dubiouscubanx
    Instead of making a new thread for this, I'll ask here: Will the JVC X'Eye play backup Sega CD games as well?
    Sure does. I use my X'Eye to play SCD back ups. Now my Laseractive, that won't play shit.

  17. #17
    Banana (Level 7) smokehouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sleeping....
    Posts
    1,426
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Damaramu
    Quote Originally Posted by dubiouscubanx
    Instead of making a new thread for this, I'll ask here: Will the JVC X'Eye play backup Sega CD games as well?
    Sure does. I use my X'Eye to play SCD back ups. Now my Laseractive, that won't play shit.
    My Laseractive played backups just fine. As a matter of fact I have a Japanese Mega Drive unit and it played backups of Japanese games.

    Take a hike, wang-broom!
    I swear I can smell your stinky hands from here!

  18. #18
    Bell (Level 8) CosmicMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,790
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I'm still waiting for the day some nice person creates an English patch for Shadowrun. I'll still buy a Japanese copy of the game, but an English patched version of that would be the only time I'd ever use a CD-R on my MegaCD.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-06-2006, 03:32 AM
  2. Playing ATARI Backups on SEGA DC
    By long_shawn_silver in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-16-2005, 12:07 PM
  3. Replies: 93
    Last Post: 05-07-2004, 04:02 PM
  4. Sega CD Backups...Will They work?
    By Necrosaro420 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-28-2004, 06:24 PM
  5. Making a Saturn play backups?
    By chadtower in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-10-2003, 10:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •