Thread: I want to buy a PSP, but I'm confused about some things...

Cherry (Level 1) DaBargainHunta's Avatar
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default I want to buy a PSP, but I'm confused about some things...

Okay, I've been wanting a PSP for a while now, but I'm confused about a few things:

1) Memory sticks: What's the best size, which brands/formats are compatible and not compatible, etc. I have no idea what I should be looking for here.

2) Screen protectors and carrying cases: Are these things essential? If so, what are the best ones to get and how much will this stuff set me back?

3) Emulation and firmware upgrades: Can I emulate right out of the box or do I have to do all kinds of fancy schmancy technical stuff to get this going? I have some experience with GBA emulation and flash carts, but I have a feeling this is a whole different ballpark. I don't want to "brick" my brand new PSP.

4) Older games: Are they out of print and a pain to find? I know this is a problem on the DS (which I have and love), just as it was previously a problem on the GBA. I am particularly interested in some of the older retro compilations or speciality titles like Pinball Hall of Fame (I am kicking myself for not buying it when I saw it at Wal-Mart a year ago for $20).

5) Movies: I'm not particularly interested in UMDs, but I hear there's a way to rip DVDs onto the PSP. How much space does something like that take and how difficult/time-consuming is it?

6) Possible redesign/price drop(?): Any buzz on this at all? I remember reading something about a redesign in PSM (or somewhere) a while back.

7) Ultimate Ghosts N Goblins: Gaming bliss or really too damn hard? This is my personal "killer app" for the PSP.

Thanks in advance for your help.
    Formerly the poster known as Retro Pro

My review of Road Trip for PS2: http://digitpress.com/reviews/roadtrip.htm

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in