Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Using a CopyNES or other NES dumping device

  1. #1
    Pretzel (Level 4) mrmark0673's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    839
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Using a CopyNES or other NES dumping device

    Hi folks,

    I posted in the "Dumping Resource" thread without a response after a few days and figured that asking here may get me an answer quicker. I have a few carts that I need to dump and I was thinking about purchasing a CopyNES unit to dump the games. How user friendly is the unit? Is it something that someone with pretty much 0 knowledge of ROMs or EEPROMs can use and successfully back up a game? If not, are there any other units for sale that are easier to use for those less ROM savy? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    -Mark

  2. #2
    Pac-Man (Level 10)
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2,802
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    What kind of games are we talking about, is the million dollar question.

    If you're dumping stuff you could buy in stores, or licensed prototypes, it's pretty easy; as long as you're able to open the cartridge and look at the board. If you're trying to dump bootleg multicarts and stuff, no, it's not easy at all.

  3. #3
    Pretzel (Level 4) mrmark0673's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    839
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    So lets just assume I was going to dump something from a store or a licensed proto, what will I need to identify after I open it up? Is there a guide on how to use a CopyNES after I have access to the ROMs/EEPROMs and the board?

  4. #4
    Pac-Man (Level 10)
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2,802
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    NES games use tons of different circuit board types, you need to know which kind of board the game you're dumping uses so you can select the proper plugin.

    That's the only "hard" part, the rest is cake.

  5. #5
    Crono (Level 14)
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,221
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I dumped all my NES protos not long ago. All i did was to load the retail ROM with a emulator to find out what mapper the games uses and then select the same mapper in the CopyNES software and dump. Some of the protos are on TKROM (or something like that, big boards atleast) boards, but i still just chose which mapper and it dumped 100% fine.

  6. #6
    Pretzel (Level 4) mrmark0673's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    839
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Sounds good, I'll try that out. Another quick hypothetical question; What if I happened to have, say, a PAL only proto in NTSC form. Would it use the same mapper as the PAL release? Thanks again for all your help guys, I really appreciate it.

    -Mark

  7. #7
    Crono (Level 14)
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,221
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yep, the mapper is the same even if its PAL or NTSC

  8. #8
    Pear (Level 6)
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,283
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    May I also suggest you don't hold off on getting the CopyNES ??

    There's only a few kits left, and once they're gone, they're gone! (according to Kevin).

  9. #9
    Pretzel (Level 4) mrmark0673's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    839
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leonk View Post
    May I also suggest you don't hold off on getting the CopyNES ??

    There's only a few kits left, and once they're gone, they're gone! (according to Kevin).
    Well that clinches it, just sent him an email placing an order. Thanks for all the advice guys, I'll let you know how everything turns out.

    -Mark

  10. #10
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    143
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I want to try a copynes as well. Where does one buy one of these last few units?
    just checking

  11. #11
    Crono (Level 14)
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,221
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Player-2 View Post
    I want to try a copynes as well. Where does one buy one of these last few units?
    Here:

    http://www.tripoint.org/kevtris/Projects/copynes/

    I think you'll have to e-mail him and request a fully made CopyNES unless you want to make it yourself. Not 100% sure about the price, but i think its $100+. I dont think these will run out at some point as long as there are a demand for them.

  12. #12
    Pretzel (Level 4) mrmark0673's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    839
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I sent Kevin an email several days ago without response. Does anyone know a better way of getting through to him?

  13. #13
    Strawberry (Level 2) Mr.collection's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Clevelandish, OH
    Posts
    479
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Don't mean to bring up an old topic, but it better than creating a new one.
    If I got a CopyNES and a flash cart could I dump hacked copies of games on it and play them on my NES. Can I play the games on a NES without the CopyNES?
    Feedback
    Don't think of me as a youngn' just a collector that learned his basics from a Pico.
    I just like that tingling feeling in my eyeballs when I play VB.
    I am looking for a Mini Neo Geo 2- slot 13".

  14. #14
    Pear (Level 6)
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,283
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It doesn't seem one is able to purchase a CopyNES anymore. Kevin isn't replying for a while. I think they're all sold out!

    I believe the time delay between the first CopyNES and the next was over 10 years!!! I hope we won't have to wait that long to see it on the market again.

  15. #15
    Crono (Level 14)
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,221
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.collection View Post
    Don't mean to bring up an old topic, but it better than creating a new one.
    If I got a CopyNES and a flash cart could I dump hacked copies of games on it and play them on my NES. Can I play the games on a NES without the CopyNES?
    Alittle late reply so you might already know the answer, but no, you dont need a CopyNES to be able to use a flashcard. Altho there is one flashcart that doesnt have the CF card slot, then you need a CopyNES to copy the game over to the card. I've heard that there might come a USB version for this also, then you dont need a CopyNES.

    Come to think of it, the CF flashcards might have been released after you asked, but i answer anyway

Similar Threads

  1. WTB: CopyNES already installed in NES
    By nesman85 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-05-2012, 10:26 PM
  2. Can I pretty please borrow your Retrode or other USB dumping device?
    By Az in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-04-2011, 11:16 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2011, 01:03 PM
  4. USB CopyNES from Retrousb
    By Alfador in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-02-2008, 09:16 PM
  5. WTB: CopyNES
    By van_halen in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-11-2006, 11:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •