Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Would a new 2D version of Castlevania be viable on the next gen systems?

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Would a new 2D version of Castlevania be viable on the next gen systems?

I ask here instead of the Modern Gaming forum because...well just because...

also, I am not a Castlevania expert by any means...

One thing I cannot let go of or understand is why Castlevania never went back to its 2D roots after SOTN, save for the hand held versions. I mean SOTN came out when 3D was all the rave. I remember my friends calling me crazy for buying a 2D game on the PS, some wouldn't even play it. But it became a MASSIVE hit, won all kinds of awards and went down in history as the best Castlevania game of all time if not the best game to ever be released on the PS (this is all debatable, but you get my point).

Then came the 3D Castlevania games which IMO universally sucked. I suppose we could consider Castlevania Chronicles, but it wasn't really a "next gen" game.

Meanwhile, we start seeing 2D Castlevania games on the hand held systems and they are VERY well received and sell extremely well.

So did the developers ever stop to think that maybe a 2D next gen Castlevania was the way to go? I mean, I have always wondered what it would look like. Would the processing power and graphical capabilities of the PS3 and Xbox 360 just be wasted on a 2D side scroller OR could a game like SOTN on steroids/HGH be created that would just kick all kinds of ass?? In my mind, I am just picturing this mutli layered, crazy detailed, HUGE, RPG and side scroller mix of a Castlevania game all in glorious 2D and high definition.

Any thoughts?
    Last edited by stargate; 11-03-2009 at 09:06 PM.

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by stargate View Post