Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: PS3 sound issue

  1. #1
    Pear (Level 6) Soviet Conscript's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    1,361
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default PS3 sound issue

    been haveing an issue with my PS3 and hopeing it may be an easy fix...but i'm getting the idea its not

    i have a 60 gig PS3 and lately i've been haveing issues with no sound output. the issue used to be infrequent but last time it happened i havn't been able to get the sound back.

    i've been useing an HDMI cable to output sound and video. sometimes when i power on i would get no sound at all. i tried diffrent cables as well as diffrent hdmi ports on the TV (i have 4 and tried them all) but still no sound. getting sound back was basicly random. sometimes i would just reset and would get sound. one time i had no sound did a system update and after the install and restart i would have sound. i would play a game one night with no problem turn the ps3 off and go to sleep and the next day when i powered up to continue my game no sound.

    i tried getting around this issue by useing the hdmi output for video and the muti out/RCA connectors for sound (one of my HDMI ports has red/white stero ports) but again, video but no sound.

    the only way i can get consistant sound is useing the multi a/v out through componant which of course gimps me from 1080P as its only avalible through HDMI. i tried playing with the system sound settings but nothing works and it seems no matter what i try no i'm not getting sound via hdmi. my guess is the HDMI port on my ps3 is damaged. any idea? my only other idea is getting a sound system and running sound through optical and video through hdmi (is this doable?)

  2. #2
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    I believe that you can select separate audio and video output(s) for PS3, this feature was introduced in a firmware update early this year or late last year.

    I can't imagine why optical audio out wouldn't work with ANY video combination since there is no optical video out.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  3. #3
    Pear (Level 6) Soviet Conscript's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    1,361
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frankie_Says_Relax View Post
    I believe that you can select separate audio and video output(s) for PS3, this feature was introduced in a firmware update early this year or late last year.

    I can't imagine why optical audio out wouldn't work with ANY video combination since there is no optical video out.
    i tried useing the seperate audio out feature. i used HDMI for video and i used an official sony a/v out with rca outputs for the audio and i still got no sound.
    Last edited by Soviet Conscript; 12-21-2009 at 07:51 PM.

  4. #4
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Soviet Conscript View Post
    i tried useing the seperate audio out feature. i used HDMI for video and i used an official sony a/v out with rca outputs for the audio and i still got no sound.
    Well, it's certainly spec'd to be able to, so you may be right that you have a hardware problem going on.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  5. #5
    ServBot (Level 11) MarioMania's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3,499
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I need to know about the Retro Duo prob now..quick

  6. #6
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MarioMania View Post
    I need to know about the Retro Duo prob now..quick
    Common sense is typically the way to go when somebody offers you something and describes a situation where it doesn't work properly 100% of the time.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


Similar Threads

  1. Turbo Duo Sound issue
    By bb_hood in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-10-2013, 12:12 AM
  2. Sega Mega Drive freeze issue and no sound issue.
    By suverman in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-19-2012, 05:07 AM
  3. SMS Out Run no sound issue
    By segagamer in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-08-2011, 11:33 PM
  4. Sound Issue with Parappa 2
    By Big Papa Husker in forum Modern Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-03-2007, 11:00 AM
  5. Need help with Dracula X (sound issue)
    By cr0n0 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 03-19-2006, 02:32 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •